My Skydive

tumblr_m5qspumTDb1qi6dl1

Wow what an amazing experience! I wasn’t really sure what i was getting myself in for when I signed up to do a skydive. I knew I wanted to raise money for charity and thought this would be a fun way to do it but its only as the day gets closer that you start to think about how high it will be and the risks involved.

When I arrived on the day, i actually felt quite calm. It seemed very surreal and I don’t think it hit me that I would soon be jumping out of a plane. Even whilst putting on all the kit, listening to the safety instructions, I still didnt get what all the fuss was about.

It wasn’t until I took the first step to get onto the plane that I panicked. The engine on the plane was so much louder than a normal plane and the wind from the engine was causing me to struggle to breath. I was the last on the plane, meaning I sat right by the door on the whole flight and also the first one out! As we reached around 7,000 feet, the instructor explained the position I should be in when ready to jump and to look out for the red light and wait for it to turn green.

At 13,000 feet, I couldn’t believe what I was about to do and in all honesty I thought, well that’s it, i’m hear now so if this is the last thing I ever do, hopefully it will be a quick death and wont hurt too much!!

As the light turned green, I did exactly as I was told to do, to avoid sitting on the edge of the plane for too long. As we jumped out of the plane, words cant describe the feeling. Your stomach is doing somersaults and your mind has a thousand thoughts running through. It is completely against everything that feels natural and your reflex is to grab out and hold something.

After free falling for what seemed like forever, but was only actually 40 seconds, the parachute opened and we were able to glide down for around 6 minutes and take in the breathtaking views.

I would absolutely recommend anybody considering this, to do it! You will never understand the feeling until you do it yourself! Totally worth every minute! skydive

One thought on “My Skydive

Leave a Reply

